Nasarawa State Polytechnic, Lafia

Success Through Knowledge
  • :
  • :
About Nasarawa State Polytechnic, Lafia

The Nasarawa State Polytechnic, Lafia was established by His Excellency, the First Executive Governor of Nasarawa State, Alhaji (Dr) Abdullahi Adamu(Sarkin Yakin Keffi) on 15th August 2000. Its established followed an approval of "The Nasarawa State Polytechnic Law 2001" by the Nasarawa State House of Assembly for the establishment of a Polytechnic in Lafia. The Law came into force on 15th August 2000. The institution is situated at the former Government College Lafia, about 5 kilometres along Lafia- Akwanga Road, covering a land area of 21.4 hectares. The first set of students was admitted in December 2000.
The Polytechnic since its inception has the following as Rectors and Registrars.





Alh. Mustapha 0.
Onuku (Acting)


Alh. Suleiman Adamu


Dr. K. B. Tanyigna


Alh. Suliman Adamu


Mr. Michael M. Ibrahim


Mr Labani J. Dio

1/12/2007- Date

The State government intention in establishing the Polytechnic was predicated on her desire to promote scientific, technological and professional education in the State. This is spelt out in the objective of the Polytechnic as Contained in the Nasarawa State Polytechnic Law, 2000, thus;
(a) To Produce men and women in different fields of endeavour who are Imaginative, practical, creative, humble and dedicated to the services of Humanity.
(b) To strive for excellence in education through acceptable curricula, designed to produce diplomates who are morally and academically sound
(c) To endeavour to expose students to such educational standard and programme in technical skills that are designed to improve their competitive Advantage.
(D) To provide opportunity for all our students to be able to appreciate the Benefits of the technology in all its complexity.
(e) To encourage meaningful interaction between staff and students both in-house and externally.
(f) To encourage its staff to contribute to learned journals/publications and also
Create atmosphere conducive to publication of text books and reading materials, scientific enquiry and inventions for the greater glory of the polytechnic in particular and that of the nation in general.

The Administrative Structure
The Administrative structure of the polytechnic is set out as contained in the management Guidelines of tertiary institutions and polytechnics, and in particular as contained in the law establishing the institution.
1 Governing Council
The Governing Council is the highest decision making body of the institution saddled with the responsibility of making policy decisions. The council has the power to do that, which in her opinion would facilitate the smooth running of the institution and conduct of the polytechnic. Also, the Council determines any appeal made to her within 21 days in writing by an aggrieved student who has been communicated with a decision by the Rector or any other person/body in the institution other than the Governing Council herself.

The council, headed by a chairman, is constituted of both laymen and professionals appointed by the Executive Governor of Nasarawa State, drawn from spheres of life. The Rector as well as a representative of the Academic Board, are members, while the Registrar of the Polytechnics serves as the secretary.

2 Academic Board
The formulation and regulation of Academic policies including the organization and control of academic activities of the polytechnic. The academics Board consists of:
(a) The Rector as the Chairman
(b) Deputy Rector
(c) All Academic Directors
(d) All heads of academic Department
(e) All chief Lecturer
(f) The polytechnic Librarian
(g) Directors (consultancy services, Academic Planning and students affairs)
(h) The SIWES Coordinator
(i) Two representatives of the Academic Staff
(j) The Registrar is the Secretary of the Board.
3 Principal Officers
The Rector is the Chief Executive and Academic Head of the polytechnic, He is vested with the general function of directing the activities of the polytechnic and ensuring discipline among students. For these purposes he is advised and assisted by the principal officers, the Academic Directors, Head of departments, Head of Units, and all other staff of the polytechnic .
The Rector is also the chairman of both the Academic Board and the Management Advisory Committee
The Deputy Rector assists the Rector and/or stands in for him in his absence
The Registrar is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Polytechnic and is Responsible to the Rector for the day-today administrative of the Polytechnic. The registrar is both the secretary to the Management Advisory Committee
The Bursar is the Chief Finance Officer of the Polytechnic, and accounts to the Rector for all the Financial operation of the institution .
The Librarian is responsible for all issues in connection with the operation and maintenance of the polytechnic's library
The Director of works is responsible for the general maintenance of all existing structures, furniture, roads, vehicles, and open spaces in the Polytechnic. The Director also advises the polytechnic on policy matters, which border on the economic and effective use of the institutions physical Resources. including capital works
4 Management Advisary Commiteee
The Management Advisory Committee serves as a forum for advising the Rector in the management and/or administration of the Polytechnic by meaningful advice and suggestions. The committee consists of ;

The Rector Chairman
The Deputy Rector Member
All Academic Directors Member
The Director of Works Member
The Bursar Member
The Polytechnic Librarian Member
The registrar serve as the secretary to the committee
Latest News
The Polytechnic has been reopened on the 16th August, 2016. Read more...
Some news goes here
Some news goes here